J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital
1225 Warm Springs Avenue
Huntingdon, PA 16652
Get Directions

Hospital News

J.C. Blair Auxiliary Awards Two Scholarships

The Auxiliary to J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital, Huntingdon, awarded scholarships to two outstanding area students whose parents are employed by J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital, Desirae Forry and Tanner Gooden.

Desirae will start at Mount Aloysius College this fall to pursue a degree as a Physical Therapy Assistant after completing a year at Saint Francis University. She became interested in the PTA field while serving as a volunteer at Valley View Haven in Belleville. In addition, Desirae job shadowed before enrolling in a PTA program. She was able to see first-hand what patients go through and how the physical therapist interacts with the patients. During her time in high school, Desirae served as a member of student government and tobacco busters while also participating in softball and soccer. She is the daughter of Regina Gibson of Allensville and Terry Forry of Lewistown.

Tanner, a 2012 honor graduate of DuBois Area High School, will enroll at the Pennsylvania State University this fall. He plans to major in physical therapy. During his time in high school, Tanner was a very active student-athlete. He lettered in basketball and track and field. Tanner was recognized as the Pennsylvania State Assist Leader for AAAA schools during his junior and senior years. He was also the team MVP, defensive player of the year and scoring leader. Tanner was also a two-time District IX champion in track. In addition to his athletic pursuits, he also volunteers in the elementary basketball program, served as referee at the local YMCA and participated in the Invisible Children Club. Tanner's parents are Barry Gooden of Robertsdale and Jamie Magee of DuBois.

The Auxiliary Scholarship is awarded annually to qualified applicants whose parents are employed by J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital. There are two scholarships available to pursue a course in higher education in a medically related field. Scholarship selection committee members were: Sally Oberle, Chair, Joanne Krugh, Bonnie Lakso, Miranda Peruso, Larry Powell and Judi Romano.