J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital
1225 Warm Springs Avenue
Huntingdon, PA 16652
Get Directions

Hospital News

J.C. Blair Auxiliary Announces Scholarship Winners

The Auxiliary to J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital, Huntingdon, awarded scholarships to two outstanding area students whose parents are employed by J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital, Andrea Shope and Brianna Riggleman.
Andrea is currently a Registered Nursing student at the Conemaugh School of Nursing in Johnstown, PA. This is an accelerated two-year nursing program. Andrea plans to continue her nursing education at the Pittsburgh University School of Nursing to obtain a Bachelor\'s degree in Nursing. She is a 2010 honors graduate of Southern Huntingdon County High School. Andrea\'s interests in high school included Varsity Basketball and Majorettes. This is the second consecutive year that Andrea is being awarded the Auxiliary Scholarship. She is the daughter of Jeff and Penny Shope of Saltillo. She has an older sister, Hillary Shope of Chambersburg, PA, and her grandparents are Stanley and Susan Hall of Three Springs and Betty and Edwin Baker of Saltillo.
Brianna, a 2011 graduate of Juniata Valley High School, will enroll in the Physician\'s Assistant program at Lock Haven University in the fall. Her science classes, including biology, anatomy and physiology, were instrumental in her decision to be part of the medical field. During her time at JVHS, she was involved in the Lead and Seed Club and Teens Against Tobacco Use Club. These clubs help prevent young adults from using tobacco, alcohol and drug-related products. In addition, Brianna served as an aide to the school nurse in the elementary school for two years. Her parents are Denise and Dave Kline of Alexandria and Brian Riggleman of Tyrone.
The Auxiliary Scholarship is awarded annually to qualified applicants whose parents are employed by J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital. There are two scholarships available to pursue a course in higher education in a medically related field. Scholarship selection committee members were: Sally Oberle, Chair, Joanne Krugh, Bonnie Lakso, Miranda Peruso, Larry Powell and Judi Romano.